WriterSlam UK Finalists Announced!

We’re very pleased to be able to announce our five finalists for the very first WriterSlam UK!

The finalists are:

Caitlin Innes Edwards

Lee Coan

Lisa Blackwell

Michael Waife

Tom McKay

Congratulations to our finalists! All five will now take part in a writing workshop this weekend, and will have extracts of their script performed at the first WriterSlam show on Wednesday 10th June at Theatre Royal Stratford East.

They will be competing for the following prizes, which will be awarded on the night:

Winner: the winner will receive a paid development commission from ITV and ITV Studios, with mentoring from an ITV Studios Exec, and feedback from Jane Hudson, Head of Drama Series at ITV.

Runners Up: there are two runners up prizes from the BBC and Tiger Aspect.

BBC: the writer selected by the BBC will be offered a place on their Introduction to Writing for Continuing Drama Workshop. This invitation only workshop is run by the BBC to find new potential new writers for their continuing drama series’, Holby City, Casualty, Doctors and Eastenders.

Tiger Aspect: the writer selected by Tiger Aspect will be offered a shadowing placement with a writer on one of their top drama series such as Ripper Street.

The audience will include an invited industry audience, with judges from all three supporters, as well as representatives from other production companies, agents and directors.

A limited amount of tickets are also available to the public, so if you want to see some of the best new writing talent out there, book your ticket online now: http://www.stratfordeast.com/writerslam